Pop My Mind

Anger

So there’s this creative platform, still fairly new, that I’ve been making work for since I graduated. It’s called Pop My Mind! and it’s basically a great big social game of creative/artistic telephone. Someone posts something, or a seed is posted, and then the community responds to that post with a work inspired by it. And so on and so forth. The thing I love most about it is that it’s cross-platform creativity. Illustration, fine art, music, photography, writing – any kind of creative output can be a response and in turn inspire responses.

Inside & Out

I’ve made four responses so far – three to seeded prompts, and one to another artist’s work. And there are lots more that I have planned/am in the process of making, because there’s a lot of work on there that is inspiring. It’s especially great for me to be able to take something from a totally different discipline to my own and then twist and turn it into something that is mine. The platform is already growing a lot since it first started and I made my first piece – in fact it’s almost at 200 responses. Aside from that, there’s already been an exhibition which my work was featured in, and there’s a Sonification event coming up soon featuring work from the platform. The demo video actually includes this piece of mine that I uploaded:

Healing Hands

It’s a super fun thing to do, and I enjoy making work for it. I saved my favourite piece that I’ve made for last, even though it’s the one that took the least amount of time to make, as it was a response to the 1 Hour Challenge seed that was posted.

Demons Down

So if you’re interested in a platform that’s a bit new and a bit different, then go and check it out at http://www.popmymind.com/ And if you make something, inspired by my work or not, then let me know! I’d love to see it.

 

Leave a Reply

