Interview With Holly Martin

Time for another interview this week, this time with the fantastic Holly Martin!

holly 1

1. Could you tell us a bit about yourself?
I’m 22 years old and am originally from a small village in Kent. I’m very interested in ethical and cultural issues. I enjoy spending a lot of time watching a wide scope of documentaries and reading articles.

holly 32. You’ve been studying at the CSA in Anglia Ruskin for almost three years now, what has that been like for you?
The 3 years have been incredible but very challenging. I wouldn’t say it was a walk in the park for me. But I enjoyed every moment, even when it was all going wrong! The lecturers have been more than what I could ever ask for.

3. If you could pick one favourite memory of studying at the CSA, what would it be?
There are quite a few but I will never forget the band project. Being able to create a band and make a music video for our final project in 1st year was amazing! It definitely opened my eyes up to where skills from illustration can be applied and what illustration can be.

4. What do you like the most about being an illustrator?
I enjoy problem solving, so I love the satisfaction of finally cracking a tough image! Learning about new things is also a bonus. You find yourself knowing all kinds of weird and wonderful things.

5. What do you like the least?
Having to explain to someone what an illustrator is. Sometimes it can be painful!

6. How would you describe your work and what you do?
My work is usually based on political, ethical and cultural issues. I like to try and find a different angle. I enjoy making the viewer really think about the subject in the article.

7. What are some of your hopes for the future after you graduate? Do you have any specific goals in mind that you’d love to achieve?
I would love to get a lot of published editorial work under my belt, just to see my own work in an article would be amazing. After that I have a few ideas within illustration I’d like to try, away from the editorial side of things…but we’ll see!

8. Finally, are there any words of wisdom or any advice you’d give to your first year self, or to anyone just starting their own degree?
Take every opportunity you can, kill your darlings and less is more!

holly 2

Leave a Reply

