Elena – Original Character Portrait

Elena 2015

I haven’t mentioned it much on the blog (with the exception of this one post from way back), but since about 2010 I’ve been slowly working on a fantasy trilogy. Will it ever be finished? Who knows, it’s a mystery, but what isn’t a mystery is that I love my main character, and that this is the third time I’ve painted her. She’s changed a lot since I first started writing, in appearance, backstory and characterisation. Her name, though, is still Elena, and she’s still – at the start of the story anyway – a kind, compassionate, optimistic, slightly naive, loving soul, who just wants to help make things right.

So of course by the end of the series half the people she loves are dead, at least three cities have been reduced to ashes and darkness nearly devoured the world. It’s a fantasy series, what do you expect?

Portrait commissions in this style are available, I should mention, if anyone else has a character they love as much as I love Elena. And for the curious, I saved a few stages of the work and put together a process gif as I did for my painting of Hurd a while back:

process-gif-elena

Leave a Reply

