Interview With Rosie McAndrew

Although our hand-in is now behind us, there are still interviews to come, and this week we have the superb Rosie McAndrew!

Rosie McAndrew Supremes

1. Could you tell us a bit about yourself?
Well, I’m a pretty obsessed with popular culture, films in particular. I’m a northerner, I make a lot of jokes, not all of them good…

2. You’ve been studying at the CSA in Anglia Ruskin for almost three years now, what has that been like for you?
I transferred into second year from a different university and the transition has been pretty interesting. The course is everything I could hope for, the people are great and Cambridge is unlike anywhere else I’ve been so I couldn’t be happier with it all.

3. If you could pickRosie image 2 one favourite memory of studying at the CSA, what would it be?
Probably the Seville trip. It was my first week at Anglia and it started with a trip to Spain with a bunch of strangers. I’m glad I went, It was a really fun experience, I learnt a lot and I got to know everyone…over sangria.

4. What do you like the most about being an illustrator?
That I can bring my interests into whatever I make and there’s always a new subject to research and learn more about.

5. What do you like the least?
Probably the last few hours before a deadline

6. How would you describe your work and what you do?
I make a lot of references to films and popular culture in general, even if I’m the only one who knows its there. I like making connections so generally the idea drives the work.

7. What are some of your hopes for the future after you graduate? Do you have any specific goals in mind that you’d love to achieve?
I’d like to do editorial work and book covers. I’d also like to be involved in film and television in some way.

8. Finally, are there any words of wisdom or any advice you’d give to your first year self, or to anyone just starting their own degree?
If you’re enjoying it the work will show that. Don’t freak out if things aren’t working how you thought they would, take a break and look at it again, and if you’ve exhausted the options its okay to change things all together.

Rosie McAndrew Gif

If you want to see more of Rosie’s work, or get in touch with her, check out her portfolio here: http://cargocollective.com/rosiemcandrew

Leave a Reply

